Skip to content

The nominees for The Best 2020 Award …

25 November, 2020

On December 17, FIFA will deliver the The Best 2020 awards virtually due to the COVID health crisis. The nominees for The Best 2020 Award … Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo or Lewandowski compete for the award for the best player of the year. Predictably Hans-Dieter Flick will do it as best coach after Bayern Munich’s year.

The FiFA has revealed the names of the finalist candidates in the categories of best player, best goalkeeper and best coach. In addition to the Puskás Award. Voting will be valid until December 9, and two days later, on December 11, the three finalists of the seven categories will be announced. The Best FIFA Football Awards 2020 ceremony will take place on December 17. For the first time in history, it will be held virtually.

Lewandowski, best Player

The Spanish Sergio Ramos and Thiago Alcántara compete for the Best Player award. Also in his category are Leonel Messi, Neymar, De Bruyne, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah and Virgil van Dijk. For the first time in a decade neither Ronaldo nor Messi are favorites.

Without a doubt this year the name of Robert Lewandowski rings out strongly. He is delighted by the magnificent championship he has held with Bayern Munich and the titles he has won, the German Cup, Bundesliga, Champions League and European Super Cup.

Manuel Neuer, best goalkeeper

In the category of best goalkeeper of the year, the pools give the German Manuel Neuer as the winner. The Bayern Munich goalkeeper has had a magnificent year and has been a key player for the team. Like Lewandowski, he endorses the titles obtained.

Among the finalists there is no Spanish goalkeeper. However, the best goalkeeper is the Real Madrid player, Thibaut Courtois; Marc-André ter Stegen from Barça and the Slovakian Jan Oblak from Atlético de Madrid. Other candidates include Liverpool FC’s Alisson Becker and former Madrid player Keylor Navas, currently at Paris Saint-Germain.

Flick, best coach

If the pools give Robert Lewandowski as the best player and Manuel Neuer as the best goalkeeper of the year, the best coach will undoubtedly fall on Hans-Dieter Flick. The German has achieved a feat in a difficult season marked by Covid.

Other candidates for the Best Coach award include Real Madrid’s Zinédine Zidane, Leeds United FC’s Marcelo Bielsa, Liverpool’s Jürgen Klopp and Sevilla FC’s Julen Lopetegui.

Puskás Award

The winner of the last edition was the Hungarian Daniel Zsóri. The winner is decided by a professional jury and fans from around the world registered with FIFA. In this edition, the eleven shortlisted goals are for Shirley Cruz (CRC): Costa Rica – Panamá, Giorgian de Arrascaeta (URU): Ceará SC – CR Flamengo, Jordan Flores (ENG): Shamrock Rovers FC – Dundalk FC, André-Pierre Gignac (FRA): UANL Tigres – Pumas, Sophie Ingle (WAL): Arsenal WFC – Chelsea FC Women, Zlatko Junuzović (AUT): SK Rapid Wien – FC Red Bull Salzburg, Hlompho Kekana (RSA): Mamelodi Sundowns FC – Cape Town City FC, Son Heung-min (KOR): Tottenham Hotspur FC – Burnley FC, Leonel Quiñónez (ECU): Universidad Católica – CSD Macará, Luis Suárez (URU) – FC Barcelona – RCD Mallorca y Caroline Weir (SCO): Manchester City WFC – Manchester United WFC.

These are some of the nominees for The Best 2020 Award … The winners will be announced on December 17.

Web para mayores de edad

El Contenido de The Magazine Sport está destinado a personas de 18 años o más.

Por favor, confirma que cumples con el requisito de edad legal para continuar.

Volver atrás